The Profile of the Department of Environmental Biotechnology< Back

All over the world water resources are impaired by miscellaneous anthropogenic pollutants. Contaminations can result from improper practices in the past. In recent years diverse compounds are classified as emerging pollutants due to negative effects on the environment as well as on human health.

The Department of Environmental Biotechnology works on biological degradation processes which significantly eliminate contaminants from groundwater and soil at contaminated sites. Biodegradation also contributes significantly to water purification during wastewater treatment, wastewater reuse and groundwater recharge. Such natural processes are in general cost-efficient, eco-friendly and sustainable.

Another field of activity is the assessment of chemical substances regarding their biodegradability as well as their ecotoxicity to assure prevention of future contaminations and protection of water resources. To assess microbial contaminations in environmental samples molecular biology methods are applied for the detection of antibiotic resistant, hygienically relevant and pathogenic microorganisms.

In the following sections you will find more information on our work areas and research projects. Contact persons are available for your detailed questions.

Activities/Fields of interestmore >>>

Research projectsmore >>>

Publications and further informationmore >>>

Head of Department

Prof. Dr. Andreas Tiehm

Tel.: +49(0)721/9678-137
E-MailVisitenkarte downloaden
tiehm_web.jpg

Contact

Christa Reimold de Matienzo

Tel.: +49(0)721/9678-221
Fax +49(0)721/9678-104
E-MailVisitenkarte downloaden

Das Profil der Abteilung Mikro- und Molekularbiologie/Umweltbiotechnologie< zurück

Menschliche Aktivitäten führen zu vielfältigen Schadstoffeinträgen in die aquatische Umwelt. Neben den sogenannten Altlasten, die in der Vergangenheit entstanden sind, werden viele neue Substanzen als für die Umwelt wie auch für die menschliche Gesundheit relevante Schadstoffe bewertet.

Von Altlasten besonders betroffen sind Böden und das Grundwasser. Die Abteilung Umweltbiotechnologie und Altlasten beschäftigt sich daher eingehend mit natürlichen biologischen Abbauprozessen im Untergrund, die maßgeblich zur kostengünstigen, umweltverträglichen und nachhaltigen Elimination von Schadstoffen aus der Umwelt beitragen können.

Ein weiteres Arbeitsgebiet ist die Nutzung biologischer Abbauprozesse bei der Abwasserreinigung/ -Wiederverwendung sowie bei der Grundwasseranreicherung. Im Rahmen des vorsorgenden Grundwasser- und Ressourcenschutz werden Stoffe bezüglich ihrer Umweltwirkung (biologische Abbaubarkeit und Ökotoxizität) beurteilt. Zur Bewertung mikrobieller Kontaminationen in Umweltproben werden molekularbiologische Nachweismethoden für Antibiotika-resistente, hygienerelevante und pathogene Mikroorganismen entwickelt.

In den folgenden Rubriken können Sie sich näher über unsere Arbeitsgebiete und Forschungsthemen informieren. Die jeweiligen AnsprechpartnerInnen stehen Ihnen gerne für Rückfragen zur Verfügung.

Arbeitsgebietemehr >>>

Forschungsprojektemehr >>>

Publikationen und weitere Informationen mehr >>>

Abteilungsleiter

Prof. Dr. Andreas Tiehm

Tel.: +49(0)721/9678-137
E-MailVisitenkarte downloaden
tiehm_web.jpg

Sekretariat

Christa Reimold de Matienzo

Tel.: +49(0)721/9678-221
Fax: +49(0)721/9678-104
E-MailVisitenkarte downloaden